The Nineteenth Amendment Project

Led by Burning Coal Theatre

Online Premiere
  • Thursday, August 20, 2020, 7:30 PM
Buy Tickets
North Carolina Opera is proud to participate in THE NINETEENTH AMENDMENT PROJECT, led by Burning Coal Theatre. 

Over the course of fourteen days, Burning Coal will premiere, on line, fourteen different short theater pieces commemorating the centenary of the ratification of the Nineteenth Amendment to the United States Constitution, which guaranteed that the right of citizens to vote would not be denied or abridged an account of sex.

LOST MUSIC FROM THE HEART OF EVERYTHING, with music by Kamala Sankaram and text by Ruth Margraff, performed by Stephanie Foley Davis, will stream beginning on Thursday, August 20th, at 7:30, and will be available into September.  This aria is inspired by the work of Amelia Himes Walker, a suffragist who picketed the White House and suffered imprisonment in her efforts to secure the federal guarantee of women's suffrage.

To view the stream, and for more information on the project, please click here.

Special thanks to the Meredith College Department of Music for helping to make this performance possible.
(a suffrage aria for Amelia Himes Walker)

mezzo-soprano Stephanie Foley Davis

composer  Kamala Sankaram
librettist   Ruth Margraff

Videographer  Eric Leary


Cast Details: Click on each cast member to read their full bio:

Creative Team Details: Click on each creative team member to read their full bio:

Production Crew Details: Click on each production crew member to read their full bio: